The Passive Escape











{November 10, 2009}   Braces?

So, for the last month or two, I’ve had a dilemma hanging over my head. To have braces, or not to have braces.

I’ve already had a ‘functional appliance’, which was one of those huge metal things that somehow manages to fit in you mouth. Somehow Orthodontists have found whatever power Mary Poppins has over that bag of hers. However they did it, they fixed my over-bite.

And now I’m allowed to have train track braces. Just to properly straighten them up. This is why I love the NHS, and why I can’t understand the reasons for Republicans hating on such an idea. My teeth are pretty straight, they’re nothing like that classic image of teeth growing out in every other direction. Not like ‘The Big Book of British Teeth’ that appeared in an episode of The Simpsons once. But they could be straighter.

So the pros are:

  • Really, really straight teeth
  • It’s FREE (I ♥ NHS)
  • Having good teeth makes your ‘bite’ better, which makes for better teeth
  • My friends (one of whom has had braces) said I should. Plus my Grandma

And the cons are:

  • Sore teeth, the general discomfort of braces
  • Having to always wear a night retainer afterwards
  • When I was 9 I had a skateboarding accident which hurt one of my front teeth. There’s a possibility that having braces might do something bad to it? (Very basic vocabulary there)

I hate decisions like these, but at the moment I’m more inclined to saying yes to braces. What do you think?



Nic says:

Personally speaking, I found that mine were worth the while/pain.

While you’re in education you get the treatment paid for which is better I suppose than having any treatment done on them when you’re an adult as it’ll cost a bomb.

But the decision is really up to you, so just do whatever you feel more comfortable with 🙂



Leave a comment

et cetera